Six Inducted into Healthcare Internet Hall of Fame

February 1, 2013

The Healthcare Internet Hall of Fame announced its class of 2012 inductees at a special luncheon on November 13 at the 16th Annual Healthcare Internet Conference in Las Vegas. The Hall of Fame was established in 2011 to preserve his­tory and honor innovation. A 13-member board of judges reviewed candidates. The inductees in the four award categories are listed here.

Innovative Individuals

Ed Bennett, director of Web communications and technology, University of Maryland Medical System, Baltimore. Bennett has spent more than 20 years in the Internet field, consulting on Web integration, marketing, communica­tions, and customer service. He has led his organization in many areas, including being the first hospital to use paid search and the first hospital to introduce an ask-the-expert fea­ture. He was also an early champion of social media, compiling the Hospital Social Network List, now under the auspices of the Mayo Clinic.

Mark S. Gothberg, editor, eHealthcare Strategy & Trends, Rye, NY. Gothberg and his company, Health Care Communications, launched the first publication dedi­cated to healthcare and the Internet in 1999. He is the chairman of the eHealthcare Leadership Awards, founded in 2000, which remains the leading awards program exclusively recognizing healthcare digital com­munications. He has also produced numerous audio conferences on key digital marketing issues.

Innovative Organizations

Community Health Network, Indianapolis. This health system introduced the first 24/7 nurse recruiter chat, developed the first online bill payment system, offered the first online appointment sched­uling application, and established an early leadership position in mobile communications. It also launched a unique e-commerce store at

This content is only available to members.

Please log in.

Not a member yet?

Start a free 7-day trial membership to get instant access.

Log in below to access this content: