Call for Entries for the 2023 eHealthcare Leadership Awards Now Open

May 1, 2023

// By Susan Dubuque //

susan-dubuqueWe’re pleased to announce that the 2023 eHealthcare Leadership Awards Call for Entries is officially open! It’s time to review all the great things you’ve accomplished and prepare to receive the recognition you deserve.

Throughout the pandemic, digital tools and tactics saved the day — allowing organizations to maintain productivity by delivering health information and healthcare services online, and helping communities navigate the deluge of communications regarding safety precautions, testing, and vaccinations. Last year, healthcare marketers were able to step back from COVID-19-related communications and once again focus on service line marketing, patient acquisition, and customer experience.

ehla-logo-squaredJust as digital technology is in a constant state of transition, the eHealthcare Leadership Awards evolve to reflect the current state of our industry and afford healthcare marketing professionals the opportunity to demonstrate exciting new innovations.

In 2022, we introduced six new categories enthusiastically welcomed by the healthcare marketing community, as shown by the number of entries. Those categories were:

  • Best Use of Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare Marketing
  • Best Digital Physician Engagement
  • Best Email Content – Individual Email
  • Best Email Content – Series
  • Best Short Video Content – 2 Minutes or Less
  • Best Long Video Content – Over 2 Minutes 

This year, we are excited to offer 30 award categories — including three new “special” categories. Special categories require a write-up, giving you an opportunity to share your strategy, rationale, implementation, and most of all, the results of your efforts.

Here are the new or changed categories for 2023:

Best Digital Front Door conveys the important role that a comprehensive digital strategy plays in patient acquisition, creating a vital point of entry for consumers to the healthcare delivery system.

Our second new category, Digital Staff Recruitment and Retention shows how digital marketers step up to address manpower shortages crippling healthcare organizations across the country — collaborating with human resources and offering smart, targeted solutions.

Best Search Engine Marketing Campaign, the last new category, allows marketers to demonstrate their prowess in capturing low-hanging fruit — consumers who are farther down the funnel and actively searching for a product or service. 

For 2023, the Best Covid/Pandemic Communications category has been updated to Best Infectious Disease Communications. This category will cover ongoing efforts to address COVID-19-related issues but is now broadened to also encompass efforts to combat flu, the common cold, HIV/AIDS, and other contagious diseases.

Best Intranet has been retired as a category and is now folded into Best Digital Internal Communications.

Here is a complete list of the 2023 awards categories. You may submit one item or project in multiple categories.

  • NEW! Best Digital Front Door
  • NEW! Digital Staff Recruitment and Retention
  • NEW! Best Search Engine Marketing
  • CHANGED! Best Infectious Disease Communications (previously Best COVID-19 Pandemic Related Communications)
  • Best Use of Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare Marketing
  • Best Digital Physician Engagement
  • Best Healthcare Content
  • Best Rich Media
  • Best Email Content – Individual Email
  • Best Email Content – Series
  • Best Short Video Content – 2 Minutes or Less
  • Best Long Video Content – Over 2 Minutes
  • Best Healthcare Podcast
  • Best Social Media
  • Best Interactive
  • Best Site Design
  • Best Landing Page or Microsite
  • Best Internet Home Page
  • Best Overall Internet
  • Best Integrated Marketing Campaign
  • Best Digital Marketing Campaign
  • Best Mobile Website
  • Best Provider Directory
  • Best Annual or Special Report
  • Best Overall Digital Patient Experience
  • Best Digital Campaign for Health Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
  • Best Care/Disease Management
  • Best Native Mobile App
  • Best Digital Internal Communications
  • Mark Gothberg eHealthcare Organizational Commitment

The eHealthcare Leadership Awards are open to all healthcare organizations — including hospitals, health systems, pharmaceutical companies, ambulatory care facilities, and more (see all 18 classifications here). Each submission provides an opportunity for you to showcase your best work and be recognized as a leader in your field.

We hope you are inspired by the selection of the winning entries from the 2022 awards presentation.



Tips for Winning Entries

The more information you can provide for the judges, the more they will understand the goals, strategies, tactics, and results you achieved. For each entry, you may add supporting documents. Although not required for every category, this extra information really helps paint a picture of what you did and why it is worthy of top honors. And if you include some great images or video clips, they just might end up in the highlight video during the awards presentation and in our coverage of winners!

Many Ways to Get Involved

We look forward to seeing you in person at HCIC in Los Angeles, California, for the 2023 eHealthcare Leadership Awards presentation, and we invite you to play an active role in this community-wide celebration. There are many ways that you can get involved:

  • Enter your work in as many categories as you like. Winners receive a broad range of recognition.
  • Volunteer to join our distinguished panel of judges. Learn about the many benefits of judging, including a discount on HCIC registration.
  • Become a sponsor — Diamond, Platinum, and Gold sponsorships are available as well as category sponsorships. (Contact us for more information on sponsorships.)
  • Attend the live awards presentation at HCIC in Los Angeles on November 5. There’s no additional charge to attend — it’s included in your HCIC registration.
  • If you can’t attend in person, please join us for the virtual awards presentation on November 5.

We firmly believe that digital healthcare marketing makes a significant contribution to enhancing the delivery of healthcare as well as patient experiences. And the eHealthcare Leadership Awards provide the perfect opportunity for you to share your best practices and enjoy well-earned professional recognition.

We look forward to seeing you in Los Angeles on November 5, 2023! 

To enter, volunteer to judge, or to learn more about the 2023 program — the 24th Annual — visit the official site of the eHealthcare Leadership Awards. The entry deadline is June 30, 2023.

Susan Dubuque is a cofounder of NDP Agency, a marketing and advertising firm based in Richmond, Virginia, and a nationally recognized expert in behavioral marketing. She literally wrote the book on marketing’s role in health improvement, Gearing Up for Population Health: Marketing for Change, published in 2018 by the Society for Health Care Strategy and Market Development of the American Hospital Association. Susan serves on the editorial advisory board of Strategic Health Care Marketing and is co-chair of the 2023 eHealthcare Leadership Awards.