Call for Entries for the 2021 eHealthcare Leadership Awards Is Open

May 3, 2021

// By Jane Weber Brubaker //

jane-brubakerIt’s May, and if you’re part of the digital healthcare marketing community, you know what that means… the Call for Entries for the 2021 eHealthcare Leadership Awards is officially open!

What a year it has been. Last year around this time, we were hoping the worst was over and we could begin to get back to normal. Then came surge after surge, usually around a holiday when people have a hard time choosing social distancing over family, friends, and fun.

Recognizing that digital marketing priorities had to make a sharp turn away from normal priorities like patient acquisition and elective surgeries to meet the immense demand for COVID-19 communications, last year we added a new category to the Awards — Best COVID-19 Pandemic-Related Communications.

Not surprisingly, it had more entries than any other category. We expect that trend to continue this year, as the battle against the coronavirus continues to dominate, but now the focus is on getting as many people as possible vaccinated and trying to win the race against new variants.

Two New Categories for 2021


The pandemic put the spotlight on health disparities in the U.S. We saw vulnerable, underserved communities succumb to COVID-19 at an alarmingly high and disproportionate rate. That fact coupled with the racial reckoning brought on by high-profile, unjust killings of Black people led us to add another new category in 2021 — Best Digital Leadership in Health Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion.

How is your organization promoting these issues on your digital properties? Does your website demonstrate your commitment with a dedicated section or microsite? Does your content champion the rights of underserved populations? We look forward to highlighting your work in this important area.

As more people get vaccinated and we begin to emerge from the pandemic, the pressure will be on marketers to reactivate marketing efforts that had to be put on hold — and to demonstrate results. Effective landing pages and microsites are powerful engines for driving measurable conversions that ultimately lead to growth. If you have a great success story, another new 2021 category, Best Microsite or Landing Page, is perfect for you.

The 22 categories included in the 2021 eHealthcare Leadership Awards give all types of healthcare organizations (18 different industry classifications) many opportunities to show your best work and get your organization the national recognition you deserve. And not only that, you’ll be setting the standard for other organizations and our industry as a whole.

Take a look at the highlights from the 2020 virtual awards presentation for some inspiration:


Here is a complete list of the 2021 Awards categories:

  1. Best COVID-19 Pandemic-Related Communications
  2. Best Internet Homepage
  3. Best Landing Page or Microsite (NEW)
  4. Best Native Mobile App
  5. Best Mobile Website
  6. Best Overall Internet Site
  7. Best Site Design
  8. Best Social Media
  9. Best Rich Media
  10. Best Interactive
  11. Best Healthcare Content
  12. Best Healthcare Podcast
  13. Best Digital Leadership in Health Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (NEW)
  14. Best Overall Digital Patient Experience
  15. Best Annual or Special Report
  16. Best Care/Disease Management
  17. Best Doctor Directory
  18. Best Intranet
  19. Best Digital Internal Communications
  20. Best Digital Marketing Campaign
  21. Best Integrated Marketing Campaign
  22. Mark Gothberg eHealthcare Organizational Commitment Award
Tips for Entries: The more information you can provide for the judges, the more they will understand your goals, what you did to achieve them, and how well it worked. For each entry you have the ability to add supporting documents. Although not required for every category, this extra information really helps paint a picture of what you did and why it is worthy of top honors. And if you include some great images or video clips, they just might end up in the highlight video during the Awards presentation and in our coverage of Award winners!

Get Involved

The eHealthcare Leadership Awards have become a community-wide celebration, and we all look forward to meeting again in person at HCIC in Las Vegas. There are many ways you can get involved:

  • Enter in as many categories as are appropriate
  • Join our distinguished panel of judges
  • Become a sponsor — Platinum and Gold sponsorships are available (Diamond is sold out!) as well as category sponsorships.
  • Attend the awards presentation — it’s included in your HCIC registration

In healthcare and digital healthcare marketing we continually strive to do better. In the race to the top there’s no finish line. There will always be new ways we can use our skills, resources, and creativity to improve the experience of healthcare — for those who provide care, and those who receive it.

How have your digital marketing efforts made healthcare better over the past year? We’re excited to find out!

We look forward to seeing you in Las Vegas — November 4, 2021!

To enter, to volunteer to judge, or to learn more about the 2021 program — the 22nd Annual — visit the official site of the eHealthcare Leadership Awards. The final entry deadline is July 16, 2021.

Jane Weber Brubaker is executive editor of Plain-English Health Care, a division of Plain-English Media. She directs editorial content for eHealthcare Strategy & Trends and Strategic Health Care Marketing, and is past chair of the eHealthcare Leadership Awards. Email her at